About the Downtown Waynesville Association


The mission of the Downtown Waynesville Association is to undertake revitalization activities within the service district and downtown area based on the guidelines of the North Carolina and National Main Street Programs, while preserving and sustaining the social, cultural, economic and historic role of the downtown as the center of the Waynesville community.

The Executive Board meets monthly on the fourth Thursday of each month unless announced otherwise in the Board Room of the United Community Bank, 165 N. Main Street at noon. For more information contact the office of Downtown Waynesville Association.


Downtown Waynesville is the primary civic, retail, commercial, cultural and entertainment center of the community. It provides a “Sense of Place” and a “Sense of Community” through a shared memory of our past and commitment to the future with emphasis on quality planning and design, a balanced economic sector, mixed use development, residential opportunities and the creation of a vibrant entertainment and cultural arts community. Building design, second floor residential housing, high density in-fill development, parking and transportation improvements are designed for the comfort and enjoyment of the pedestrian and preservation of historic and civic space.

Executive Board

President – John Keith
Vice-President – Jayme Sheppard
Secretary – Teresa Pennington
Treasurer – Julie Chitea
Past-President – Richard Miller
Infrastructure – Greg Boothroyd
Business Recruitment – Katy Gould
Financial Development – Patsy Rogers
Promotions – Stephany Smathers
By-Laws – Scott McLeod
Budget – Chuck Reece
At Large – Carolyn Brunk
At Large – Julie Katt
At Large – Melanee Lester
At Large – Marty Prevost

Institutional Members

Town of Waynesville
Mayor Gavin Brown

Haywood County Board of Commissioners
Commissioner J.W. “Kirk” Kirkpatrick, III

Haywood County
Economic Development Council
Mark Clasby

Haywood County Chamber of Commerce
Greg Boothroyd

Haywood County Arts Council
Lindsey Solomon